conference scope






poster sessions

NIST tour


maps & directions


nanotech resources

about INC

International NanoDays

[May 14 - May 15 - May 16]

Wednesday, May 14, 2014

07:30 Continental Breakfast  
8:30 Opening Addresses Chair: Dave Seiler (NIST)
  USA Mihail C. Roco (Senior Advisor, National Science Foundation)
  Opening Addresses Junichi Sone (Executive Vice President, National Institute for Materials Science)
  Opening Address from Europe Gilbert Declerck (Board Member, imec International)
9:00 Session WE-1: Regional Updates Chair: Dave Seiler (NIST)
  National Nanotechnology Initiative in the International Context Mihail C. Roco (Senior Advisor, National Science Foundation)
  Regional Update on Science & Technology Policy in Japan Naofumi Moriya (Director for Nanotechnology and Materials, Bureau of Science, Technology and Innovation Policy, Cabinet Office)
  Regional update on Science and Technology in Europe targeting Key Enabling Technologies Dirk Beernaert (Adviser for Interdisciplinary and Integrating Activities, European Commission)
  US Industry’s Nanoelectronics Initiatives and Results Paolo Gargini (Chairman, ITRS)
  Bridge Building Between Nanoelectronics and Semiconductor Industries Naoki Yokoyama (Fellow, Fujitsu Laboratories)
  Regional update: Europe – Industry Fred van Roosmalen (VP External Relations NXP Semiconductors)
10:30 Coffee Break and Poster Viewing  
11:00 Conference Keynote: Making the World’s Best Atomic Clock Jun Ye (Fellow, JILA, National Institute of Standards and Technology and University of Colorado)
12:00 Lunch and Poster Viewing  
1:00 Session WE-2: Nanoelectronics 1 - Materials and Devices Chairs:
Marcel Annegarn (General Director, AENEAS)
Curt Richter (Leader of Nanoelectronics Group, NIST)
  Emerging Research Themes in Nanoelectronics Thomas N. Theis, Executive Director, SRC Nanoelectronics Research Initiative
  Ultra Low-voltage Operation of Devices for Internet of Things (IOT) Applications Shin'ichiro Kimura (Vice Project Leader, Low-power Electronics Association & Project)
  FDSOI a New Paradigm from Substrates to Products Maud Vinet (Leti Advanced CMOS manager)
  Speakers Panel Q&A, Discussion (15 min)  
2:45 Coffee Break and Poster Viewing  
3:15 Session WE-3: Nanoelectronics 2 - Heterogeneous Integration Chairs:
Michael A. Meador
(Manager, Nanotechnology Project, National Aeronautics and Space Administration)
Takahiro Shinada (AIST)
  Optoelectronic Systems Integration in Silicon Michael Hochberg (Univ. of Delaware)
  Thin Organic Photoconductive Film Image Sensors with Extremely High Saturation of 8500 electrons/mm2 Mitsuyoshi Mori (Chief Engineer, Panasonic)
  Heterogeneous Integration as a Holistic Approach M. Juergen Wolf (Fraunhofer Institute for Reliability and Microintegration)
  Speakers Panel Q&A, Discussion (15 min)  
5:00 Poster Session with Wine & Cheese  
6:15 Bus Departure  
7:00 Conference Dinner at Hilton
INC 10th Anniversary Celebration
Paolo Gargini (Chairman, ITRS) and others


Thursday, May 15, 2014 [Back to Top]

07:30 Continental Breakfast  
8:30 Session TH-1: Bioelectronics / Medical Breakthroughs / Sensors Chairs:
Noboru Fukushima (TOSHIBA)
Gilbert Declerck
(Member of the Board, imec international)
  Silicon Nanomembrane-based Nanophotonic Devices for Communications and Biosensing Ray Chen (Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, the University of Texas, Austin)
  Development of Palmtop Sensor for Rapid Diagnosis Koichi Awazu and Makoto Fujimaki (National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology)
  Moving the Needle in the Life Sciences Using Semiconductor Technology Peter Peumans (imec)
  Speakers Panel Q&A, Discussion (15 min)  
10:15 Coffee Break and Poster Viewing  
10:45 Session TH-2: Clean / Green Energy Chairs:
Hubert Lakner (Chair, Fraunhofer Mikroelektronik &  Director, Fraunhofer IPMS)
Gernot Pomrenke
(Program Manager for Optoelectronics, Photonics and Nanotechnology, Air Force Office of Scientific Research)
  Low-Energy Optoelectronics for Interconnects David Miller (Stanford University)
  Utilizing Nanotechnology for Advanced Thermoelectric and Thermal Management Technology Development Takao Mori (National Institute for Materials Science (NIMS), MANA, Tsukuba, Japan)
  Novel Light Management for Ultrathin Solar Cells Ruud E.I. Schropp (ENC - Solliance)
  Speakers Panel Q&A, Discussion (15 min)  
12:30 Lunch and Poster Viewing  
12:30 Special Networking Lunch (by invitation only) Barbara Goldstein (PML, NIST)
1:30 Session TH-3: Revolutionary Future Perspectives Chairs:
Bharat Bhushan (ASME Science & Technology Policy Fellow, House Committee on Science, Space, and Technology)
Kojiro Yagami (SONY)
  2D Materials Beyond Graphene Charles Ying (Program Director, Electronic and Photonic Materials Division of Materials Research, National Science Foundation)
  Trends in Neuromorphic Engineering towards Nanoelectronic Brain Machines Tetsuya Asai (Graduate School of Information Science Technology, Hokkaido University)
  Topological Insulators. Fundamentals and Perspectives Sergio O. Valenzuela (Institut Català de Nanociència i Nanotecnologia)
  Speakers Panel Q&A, Discussion (15 min)  
3:15 Coffee Break and Poster Viewing  
3:45 Session TH-4: International Cooperation Chairs:
Toyohiro Chikyow (Managing Director of NIMS)
Dirk Beernaert (Directorate General for Communications Networks, Content & Technology)
3:45 Report from IPWGN Toshiro Hiramoto (Institute of Industrial Science, University of Tokyo)
4:10 Neuromorphic Atomic Switch Networks Adam Stieg (California NanoSystems Institute, UCLA)
4:30 Horizon 2020: The European Union's Framework Programme for Research and Innovation James Gavigan (Head of the Research and Innovation Section, EU Delegation to the U.S.)
4:50 OECD Activities Related to Nanotechnology Jacqueline Allan (Head of Bio and Nanotech, Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development, Science and Technology Policy Division)
5:00 Wrap-up, Societal Implications and Panel Discussion Chair: Kosmas Galatsis (UCLA)
5:30 Poster Award Presentations Dave Seiler and Barbara Goldstein (NIST)
5:45 INC11 Announcement Toyohiro Chikyow (Managing Director of NIMS)
6:00 Closing Remarks Dave Seiler (NIST)
6:30 Bus Departure  


Friday, May 16, 2014 [Back to Top]

9:00 - 12:30 Optional NIST Tours
12:45 Bus Departure


NIST Visitor Information

Washington DC Visitors